Industry News New York

CFDA 2023 Fashion Awards: Anne Hathaway Takes the Spotlight as Host

Anne Hathaway CFDA Awards

The 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards: A Night of Glamour and Innovation

New York’s famed Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Fashion Awards has revealed its 2023 honorees and nominees list. The annual event, dubbed the “Oscars of Fashion,” celebrates the top American talents driving creativity and innovation.

In an exciting turn of events, Anne Hathaway steps into the role of host, taking over from Sarah Jessica Parker who has dropped out due to “unforeseen circumstances”, bringing her infectious energy and charm to the stage. The awards, presented by Amazon Fashion, are set to take place on November 6th at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City.

The CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) CEO, Steven Kolb, expressed the organization’s enthusiasm for Anne Hathaway’s role as host, highlighting her extensive experience in theater and film. Hathaway’s dynamic presence will light up the event, where she will also join designer Narciso Rodriguez in presenting the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award.

Visionaries Receive Tribute

Several industry legends will be honored for their pioneering work shaping modern fashion and culture.

Vera Wang, who revolutionized bridalwear and red carpet dressing, receives the Board of Directors’ Tribute. Maria Cornejo, currently celebrating 25 years of her brand Zero + Maria Cornejo, will be bestowed with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

These awards recognize Wang and Cornejo’s decades of spearheading new realms of design and empowering women through their art.

Meanwhile, former Gucci CEO Domenico De Sole earns the Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert for his instrumental business leadership in the luxury space.

Sustainability and Innovation

A key theme across several 2022 honorees is sustainability, reflecting fashion’s shifting priorities.

Designer Mara Hoffman, known for ethical manufacturing and use of eco-friendly textiles, will receive the Environmental Sustainability Award. Hoffman is lauded for proving luxury fashion can harmonize with green principles.

Gwyneth Paltrow, founder of wellness and lifestyle brand Goop, has been named recipient of this year’s Innovation Award. The CFDA cited Goop’s “women-centric, science-backed approach to wellness” as inspiration for fashion to drive change.

Celebrating Diverse Excellence

The CFDA Fashion Awards will also honor tennis legend Serena Williams with the Fashion Icon award. Williams, in a heartfelt statement, emphasized how fashion has been a powerful means of self-expression throughout her life, and her style has evolved alongside her journey.

She stressed the inclusivity of fashion, regardless of size, race or income. Serena Williams’ recognition with the prestigious Fashion Icon Award reflects her dedication to breaking down barriers in the fashion industry.

Shifting Perceptions

This year’s Awards come at a pivotal moment when fashion is confronting biases and barriers.

The predominantly female and non-binary Emerging Designer category highlights a more inclusive industry mindset. Gender-fluid label ERL also expands notions of American menswear.

Luar’s Raul Lopez makes history as the first nominee across both the womenswear and accessories fields. By uplifting creators like Lopez, the Awards continue pushing for greater representation.

A Celebration of Community

During a time of uncertainty, the CFDA Awards unite the American fashion community. The event recognizes fashion’s power to uplift, provoke thought and forge progress.

While spotlighting individual talents, nominees and honorees also represent collective success. Their excellence underscores fashion’s status as a vital artform and economic engine.

Most importantly, the Awards honor fashion’s role in steering culture and demanding that America live up to its ideals of possibility. As CFDA CEO Steven Kolb stated, “This year’s nominees and honorees are diverse, creative, and entrepreneurial, and each, in their own way, is reshaping the present and future of our industry and the global fashion landscape.”

When visionaries and trailblazers gather November 7th, it celebrates the monumental cultural impact born of design, grit and imagination. The CFDA Awards place today’s creative vanguard alongside the giants who paved the way in realizing fashion’s boundless dreams.


Founders Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert
Domenico De Sole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Maria Cornejo

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Alina Cho

Environmental Sustainability Award
Mara Hoffman

Fashion Icon Award
Serena Williams


American Womenswear Designer of the Year
Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Catherine Holstein, Khaite
Christopher John Rogers
Raul Lopez, Luar
Tory Burch

American Menswear Designer of the Year
Mike Amiri, Amiri
Willy Chavarria
Colm Dillane, KidSuper
Teddy von Ranson, Teddy Vonranson
Thom Browne, Thom Browne New York

American Accessory Designer of the Year
Ana Khouri
Brandon Blackwood
Stuart Vevers, Coach
Raul Lopez, Luar
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

American Emerging Designer of the Year
Bach Mai
Connor McKnight
Rachel Scott, Diotima
Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell, Tanner Fletcher
Carly Mark, Puppets and Puppets

International Designer of the Year
Jonathan Anderson, J.W. Anderson and Loewe

Official CFDA Site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *